Year: Junior

Major: Social Work, Psychology

Leadership positions and other organizations:bt

  • President of the Student Social Work Association (SSWA)
  • Member of Psychology club
  • Student Leader at Shively Court
  • Research Assistant with the Psychology department

Biggest accomplishment as a student leader:

My biggest accomplishment this year has been working with the other officers of the SSWA to increase our member involvement, and it has increased tremendously! The Student Social Work Association’s growth allows us to volunteer more and help more in the community, so this achievement has been very beneficial to our goals for the semester!

Best memory at OHIO:

My best memory at Ohio University would be the Fitz and the Tantrums concert Spring Semester of 2013-2014 because, as Fitz and the Tantrums put it, we were “a small but mighty crowd,” and I think the fun-loving energy in MemAud that night encompassed what it’s like to be an Ohio University student any time. It was a night with great friends and great music and I can’t ask for a better time than that!

Biggest quirk:

I have a lot of quirky characteristics, but the most interesting might be that I laugh out loud to things that I think are funny, even in areas that it might seem odd, most frequently the library when I’m watching episodes of Community or Bravest Warriors

Your role model:

My role model is my grandma, whom I got to spend a lot of time with this summer, because she taught me many life lessons about how to make the most of my day and how to make a good life for myself through hard work and motivation. She is one of the healthiest, most compassionate and hard-working people that I know and I hope to be even just half the person she is.

What makes a leader:

A leader can be defined many ways, but I’ve found that it is necessary for a leader to care about their work and the people they work with because this care is what provides motivation to complete goals. A leader needs to step up to a task and persevere through the obstacles in order to help the greater cause within the group.

Favorite quote:

I currently have a fortune from a fortune cookie sitting on my dresser that I can’t seem to throw away because I like the quote so much: “A saint is a sinner that keeps on trying.” It’s an optimistic mantra that helps me keep trying, even after a failure.

Have you used the CLDC’s services before?

I have not used CLDC services but I plan to get help with building my resume and getting my name out in the business world this next semester.

Interested in social work? Email Brandi at bt713311@ohio.edu or follow her on Twitter at @BrandiThayer to get involved with the SSWA!

Leave a Reply

