Year: Senior
Major: Chemical Engineering

Leadership positions and organizations that you are involved in:

  • Ohio University Chapter President of American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
  • Recording Secretary of Ohio University Chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the Engineering Honor Society
  • Russ College of Engineering and Technology Engineering Ambassador
  • Robe Leadership Institute Scholar

 In the past I have held the following leadership positions:

  • OU Chapter Vice President and Secretary of American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • OU Chapter Secretary of Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
  •  Peer Led Team Learning (PLTL) Mentor for the General Chemistry 1500 series
Biggest accomplishment as a student leader:
I think the biggest accomplishment I have had has been increasing involvement in American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), a professional organization for chemical engineers.  At the end of last year, only 10 or so students would attend meetings, most of them graduating seniors.  As this year’s president, I have worked to recruit new members–both upperclassmen and underclassmen.  AIChE has held several social and professional activities throughout this semester, including bringing in monthly speakers to our meetings.  With the efforts from myself and the other officers, an average of 20-25 students have been attending our biweekly meetings.  Seeing the growth in the organization over my time as president has been very rewarding and something I’m proud of.
court sterrick
Interested in getting involved with AlCheE? Email Courtney at cs289609@ohio.edu!
Best memory at OHIO:
My favorite memory at Ohio University has been attending OU Club Hockey Games.  Before attending OU, I had never attended a hockey game.  Hockey and ice skating are not very popular in my hometown; in fact, the nearest ice rink is Bird Arena.  However, thanks to my learning community freshmen year, I attended an OU Club Hockey Game and absolutely loved it.  I have grown to enjoy the games so much that I am now a season ticket holder.  Every Friday and Saturday night of a home game, I look forward to cheering on our team at Bird Arena with my friends.
Biggest quirk:
I would have to say my biggest quirk is that I am constantly smiling or laughing.  I am a very positive, upbeat person and love to smile.
Your role model and why:
My role model is the mentor I had while co-oping at DuPont for 16 months.  It was a great opportunity to meet and learn from a female engineer who has been very successful in such a male-dominated profession.  She has had the opportunity to hold several technical and managerial positions, so she has been able to provide a great deal of professional development advice for me.  She is highly respected by other engineers and operators alike.
Favorite quote:
“What you do has far greater impact than what you say.” —Stephen Covey

Leave a Reply

