What is your role and what are your responsibilities at the CLDC?

Assistant Director for Hospitality, Merchandising and Recreation

  • Liaison to the Gladys W. and David H. Patton College of Education
  • Serve as the go-to person for students in the Hospitality, Merchandising and Recreation programs as they seek internships and full-time opportunities, as well as professional development guidance
  • Manage existing relationships and cultivate new relationships with employers
  • Provide high-level service to employers to assist with talent acquisition at Ohio University

What is it like to work at the CLDC?AS

The word collaboration comes to mind when I think about this question. Most everything I do in my job involves some level of collaboration with colleagues in my office or the Division of Student Affairs, faculty in my college or external stakeholders.

What has surprised you most about your career thus far?

I think my current role has surprised me the most! I never saw myself working at a university helping students.

What is the biggest challenge you’ve experienced in your career thus far?

The biggest challenge I have experienced thus far would have to be the lack of creativity in my job. I have never been able to be as creative in my job as I would like.

What was your first job ever?

When I was 17, I started my first job at a local pizza shop called Cardo’s Pizza. This restaurant holds a special place in my heart because I made some of my very best friends there.

What was your best career or leadership experience during college?

When I was a Graduate Assistant, I had the opportunity to supervise a trip for undergraduates to New York Fashion Week. This was a small glimpse into the fashion industry, but I learned so much.

How did you find your first job after undergrad?

After completing my undergraduate degree, I continued to work in a restaurant because I had difficulty finding a job. I decided to attend graduate school the following year.

AS_Relay for Life

What are you involved in outside of work?

American Cancer Society Relay for Life. I’ve been the Captain of a Relay for Life team for the last 7 years. Our team raises money in honor of a team member’s daughter who fought the battle and conquered Leukemia.

What is your favorite place in Athens?

Fluff Bakery! I am a regular patron to Slice Day and Pie Day Friday!

What is the best place you’ve ever traveled? Why?

While I haven’t traveled as much as I would like, I really love going to New York City. Every time I go to NYC I am infused with energy.

 Share something about yourself that might surprise people

I am really passionate about Olympic Weightlifting!

Education, Certifications, and Professional Experiences

  • Bachelor of Science in Biology
  • Master of Science in Apparel, Textiles and Merchandising

 

Leave a Reply

