What is your role and what are your responsibilities at the CLDC?

Assistant Director for Outreach

  • Coach students through their career and leadership development process
  • Oversee outreach and engagement efforts of the department
  • Oversee the Pepsi Scholars program, Mock Interview Program, and CLDC Student Ambassador Team
  • Supervise the Outreach and Special Projects graduate Assistants
  • Collaborate with CLDC staff to develop workshops for the campus community

What is your favorite leadership role currently and why? Pop-Up Career Coach

Serving as an instructor for CAS 1130 and CAS 2130. I love teaching and mentoring students, and teaching these classes has allowed me to get to know my students at a deeper level than I do in career coaching. I have a background in teaching and a passion for career development, so I feel most at home in the classroom!

What is it like to work at the CLDC?

In one word: exciting! The work we do is very energizing and collaborative and we have a lot of fun doing it. One of my favorite things about my job is that I get to meet new students all the time and learn about their stories. No two days are ever the same. I laugh and learn in my job every day!

What has surprised you most about your career thus far? 

When I was younger, and even in my early years of college, I never EVER thought I would find myself working at a university. My whole life I thought I was going to be a teacher, but I have spent the first three years of my career working in career development.

What was your first job ever? Jodi on the farm

I started working on my family farm at a very early age. I attribute most of my leadership skills to the lessons I learned on the farm while I was growing up.

What was your best career or leadership experience during college? 

My best career/leadership experience was student teaching at Mechanicsburg High School during my senior year. I had the opportunity to grow in my professionalism and strengthen my teaching and leadership skills in a very supportive experiential learning environment. I also developed a great deal of empathy, patience, and resilience as I navigated the daily challenges of being a student teacher.

How did you find your first job after undergrad?

I made a last minute decision to apply for college student personnel graduate programs in the middle of my senior year at OSU. I was accepted to Ohio University’s program and applied for graduate assistantships I was interested in. I accepted a position as a graduate assistant in the CLDC, and I’ve been here ever since!

What are you involved in outside of work? Jodi and husband

In my free time you can find me spending time with my family and friends, perfecting my pioneer woman—style cooking skills, attempting to beat my husband in tennis, or tapping into my farm girl roots in the great outdoors!

What is your favorite place in Athens?

I love Strouds Run! I don’t currently live in Athens, but when I did some of my favorite weekend activities were hiking and fishing at Strouds!

What is the best place you’ve ever traveled? Why?

I can’t pick just one! In college I studied abroad in both Brazil and Australia. I value Brazil for its rich culture and agricultural prowess and Australia for its breathtaking natural wonders and unique animal species!

Share something about yourself that might surprise people

I really enjoy classic country music. Tanya Tucker, The Judds, and Patty Loveless are just a few of my favorites! They just don’t make country music like they used to!

Education, Certifications, and Professional Experiences

B.S. in Agriscience Education from The Ohio State University

M.Ed. in College Student Personnel from Ohio University

One thought on “Staff Spotlight Jodi Pavol

Leave a Reply

