What is your role and what are your responsibilities at the CLDC?

 Associate Director of Assessment

  • Oversee assessment in our office in order to continuously improve what we do and demonstrate the impact we have on students
  • Coach students in their career and leadership development
  • Oversee development and implementation of a university-wide alumni survey to capture important outcome measures
  • Grant writing to support innovative programs and services

What is it like to work at the CLDC?

It’s fantastic. We have the support and flexibility to give us creative freedom coupled with accountability to challenge us and keep us on track. I feel incredibly lucky to have my job.

What has surprised you most about your career thus far? waterfall

The fact that I didn’t actually know everything when I was 22. And that, in hindsight, my path looks more like Chaos Theory than anything else. But the more I learn about myself the more this actually makes perfect sense.

What is the biggest challenge you’ve experienced in your career thus far?

Definitely getting through a rigorous graduate program in a field I was no longer sure I wanted to be in. Whether to see it through was the most challenging decision I’ve been faced with. In the end, I’m so glad I completed my PhD.

What was your first job ever?

My first job ever, aside from babysitting, was at Wherehouse music just after my senior year of high school. I wanted a computer to take to college and my Dad suggested I go store to store and ask if they were hiring. Wherehouse music was the first place I visited and they said I was hired if I could pass a customer service assessment according to them very few people could pass. Apparently I have a knack for customer service, and this just so happens is still a big part of my job.

What was your best career or leadership experience during college?

This is a toss up between studying abroad in the Netherlands and working for campus police as a Community Service Officer. Both were incredibly impactful and allowed me to grow and learn about myself in important ways.

How did you find your first job after undergrad?

Worked at a law office while I applied for behavioral health research positions. I secretly wanted a job as a barista and probably made up for that by spending way too much time in cafes!

What are you involved in outside of work? 

Regina, Greg, Gus and friends at Cardboard City to raise funds for Habitat for Humanity.
Regina, Greg, Gus and friends at Cardboard City to raise funds for Habitat for Humanity. “Our house may not have much of a roof but check out our patio furniture!”

 I love spending quality time with my husband, good friends and family over delicious food. We also enjoy traveling and exercising, and setting up the occasional play date for our dog Gus.

What is your favorite place in Athens?

If I had to pick one, it’s definitely Casa. Just another place I spend way too much time.

What is the best place you’ve ever traveled? Why?

The Scandinavian countries, especially Norway and Sweden. Love their culture and food. Hmm, maybe I should move there…

Share something about yourself that might surprise people 

Not sure if this is a big surprise, but I don’t watch scary movies and yet I love the show Dexter.

Education, Certifications, and Professional Experiences

  • Bachelor of Science in Psychology, University of California, San Diego
  • Masters and Ph.D. in Experimental Health Psychology, Ohio University

Leave a Reply

