What is your role and what are your responsibilities at the CLDC?

Assistant Director, CLDC for the College of Arts & Sciences

In a nutshell, I…

  • Provide career coaching to undergraduate students, graduate students, and alumni
  • Collaborate with faculty and staff across all 19 departments within the College of Arts & Sciences to effectively communicate CLDC services to students
  • Establish relationships with potential employers to increase internship and career opportunities for liberal arts students
  • Create and facilitate career and leadership development workshops for specific student populations
  • Develop syllabus, lesson plans, and teach PSY4930: Career Strategies for Psychology Majors to support the graduating seniors in the Department of Psychology pursuing careers after graduation
  • Teach CAS 1130: Career Planning in the Liberal Arts, a career course designed to assist undergraduate students’ career development process

What is your favorite leadership role currently and why?

I love serving as the “liaison” between the CLDC and the students in the College of Arts & Sciences, especially because I relate so easily to what A&S students experience in regards to the career development process. I will admit that I formally changed my major five times during my undergraduate career (and probably another ten times in my head), and I’m so happy to say that I’ve found my fit.

What is it like to work at the CLDC?

I LOVE working here! The CLDC is fun-loving, innovative, motivational (to students, alumni, and also to our own staff members), and incredibly student-centered. I may be a bit biased, but I’d say Baker 533 is a pretty great place to hang out (oh, and get a lot of work done, too!).

What has surprised you most about your career thus far?

Sophomore-in-College-Jessie would never have believed that Professional-Jessie would be working as a career coach. Sophomore-in-College -Jessie would have thought, “I can’t figure out what I want to do with my own life… how in the world could I help others find their career path?!”

The scenario above does bring a smile to my face when I think about my career in retrospect and specifically in that context. In all seriousness, I’m not very surprised with where I am today because once I found my passion for higher education, I was very strategic about what I involved myself in and who I connected with, and continued this strategy into my professional career. With this being said, do I know what my next “career move” will be at this point? Absolutely no idea – but that’s what makes life exciting, right?

What was your first job ever?

I started working at Donatos when I was 15 and continued until my early college years. I did a little bit of everything over the years, from making pizzas, subs, and salads, serving as a waitress, operating the drive-through window, all the way to washing dishes. The fact that I still love Donatos pizza today attests to the fact that it was a great venue to get started in the “world of work.”

What was your best career or leadership experience during college?

This is also so difficult to answer because I truly believe my college involvement solidified who I am today and why I’m in the higher education field. If I had to (sort of) pick…

Best career experience

  • Internship with OSU’s Undergraduate Admissions team

Best leadership experience(s)

  • Serving as the Vice President of Recruitment for my sorority
  • Serving as an Orientation Leader the summer before my senior year at Ohio State

How did you find your first job after undergrad?

I knew I wanted to go into higher education and that I wanted to stay in Ohio to be close to my family. This narrowed my options down by quite a bit, and I constantly browsed through college and university websites in the state.

What are you involved in outside of work?  Jessie & TJ 

I love spending time with friends and family, so if I’m not hanging out with my Athens crew, then you’ll find me traveling all over Ohio and beyond visiting people. I legitimately enjoy exercise (no really – I can’t function without doing something active on a daily basis), and this pairs well with my enthusiasm for eating delicious food.

Family + Friends + Travel + Food= Jessie’s Happy Place

What is your favorite place in Athens?

This is such a tough question – there are so many places that are my “favorite” in Athens! I am in my happy place whenever I’m spending time with friends and family at Shade Winery. I love going on a good hike or kayak trip at Stroud’s Run, and I spend a significant amount of time on the bike path running, biking, walking, rollerblading, frolicking… you name it. Do restaurants count as “favorite places?” I love food, especially in Athens, so if we’re on that topic, you’ll likely find me at Casa Nueva.

What is the best place you’ve ever traveled? Why?

So far, I’d have to say Hawaii. I spent two weeks there with family and friends and can’t wait to return some day! With this being said, there are so many other places I want to visit – so much to do, so little time!

Share something about yourself that might surprise people

I teach people how to play the fiddle! I’ve played the violin for 16 years and this has been a really fun, informal way to continue playing in an informal atmosphere. Plus, my friends “pay” me with homemade, amazing dinners; it’s a win-win all around!

Education, Certifications, and Professional Experiences

Bachelor of Arts: Spanish from The Ohio State University, 2011

Master of Education: Higher Education from Ohio University, 2014

Previous professional experience

Admissions Advisor for Ohio University’s Undergraduate Admissions, 2011-2014

Leave a Reply

