Ellenore is not only a Bobcat, but also a member of the CLDC team! After weeks of CLDC staff spotlights, we’re rounding things off with the two students who supported our team this summer.

Year: Junior

Major: Political Science in the Honors Tutorial College

What is your role and what are your responsibilities at the CLDC?

At the CLDC, I am a PACE Intern which includes a wide variety of tasks. I perform drop-in services with students and alumni. This includes reviewing resumes and cover letters and facilitating mock interviews if needed. I also work with a team presenting CLDC information at Bobcat Student Orientation.

What is it like to work at the CLDC?

Working at the CLDC is wonderful; the staff is incredibly friendly, the office is relaxing, and it has given me the tools to figure out my future path after graduation.

What was your first job ever?

My first job was working at Wendy’s in my hometown! I worked there for over 5 years and loved the fast pace of the restaurant, though it was definitely the hardest job I have had.

What has been your best career or leadership experience in college thus far?

My best leadership experience in college thus far has been directing the Vagina Monologues. Working with over 20 young women all devoted to the empowerment of women and educating others on what it is like to be a woman is incredible. The position is challenging and it takes a lot of work to put the show together but the end result is always worth it.

What is your favorite place in Athens?EH1

My favorite place in Athens… That is a hard question to answer. I love all the green spaces you can explore around here as well as the different coffee shops where you have the ability to meet so many different people. I do not have one specific favorite place, I love Athens overall.

Best memory at OHIO?

My best memory at OHIO was the first weekend I was here my freshman year. I was at Baker Bash with my roommate and as we were standing in line, we started talking to the two girls in front of us. Little did I know, this group of girls would become some of my best friends and one was eventually my roommate. I find it funny how that kind of thing just accidentally happened and now I cannot picture my life without them!

Biggest quirk?

My biggest quirk would probably be how expressive I am through my facial expressions alone. My friends always tease me about all the weird faces I make but I do not even realize I am doing it. Once I feel something, it immediately appears on my face and I cannot keep my face from moving whenever I talk. I think I just look weird.

Who is your role model and why?

My role models are definitely my parents. My mother came from a pretty impoverished family and has worked two jobs her entire life to support me and my siblings. She keeps her priorities and is always friendly and patient no matter how bad things get. My father has supported my siblings and I every step of the way. He has worked very hard to get where he is today and has always trusted my siblings and I to make our own decisions. His friendliness and obnoxious humor is something I get from him. My parents are my best support system and my favorite people.

Favorite quote:EH2

“The idea that some lives matter less is the root of all that is wrong with the world.”

― Paul Farmer

“I don’t believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.”

― Eduardo Galeano

Leave a Reply

