Year: Senior, expected graduation May 2016

Major: Journalism, news and information track with a specialization in film and media. I am also pursuing the social media certificate.

Leadership positions and other organizations: Meryl Gottlieb

  • Culture editor, The Post; formerly a staff writer and stringer
  • President, Ohio University Society of Professional Journalists; formerly publicity chair
  • JSchool Ambassador, E.W. Scripps School of Journalism
  • (Previously in 2013-14) President, James Hall Council

What is your biggest accomplishment as a student leader?

I’ve only recently been selected into my two leadership positions for next year, so I haven’t be able to do much. However, I’ve already really enjoyed working with the writers on my culture staff and, hopefully, teaching them a few tricks in their writing. With SPJ, I’ve worked with those wonderful women last year, so I’m just excited to work as a team with them again. As for my former stint as president of the James Hall Council, it was absolutely such an honor to receive the Hall Council President of the Year award from tRAC for my work all year and to sit with Jenny Hall-Jones at that reception. It was like the icing on the cake.

What is your best memory at OHIO?

It’s cliché, but I have loved my entire time at Ohio University. I have found lifelong friends and even figured out what I want to do for the rest of my life. What more could you ask for? I do have to say my best memories are in The Post newsroom, where I’ve spent countless hours with my crazy friends. It’s a home away from home.

Biggest quirk

Probably that I’m like a 75-year-old in a 20-year-old body. I love older classic things. Judy Garland is absolutely my favorite actress and singer of all time, and I could watch re-runs of The Golden Girls 24/7. Also, almost equal to my obsession with Judy Garland is my passion for musicals. I just listen to soundtracks on repeat all day, every day.

Who is your role model and why?

My sister Haley. She’s been an important figure all of my life. She’s seven years older than me and has always looked out for me in every way possible. She’s such an amazing, hard working and strong-willed woman. She completed her master’s and has an incredible job as a speech language pathologist. She’s achieving her dreams, and it just shows me that I too can follow my dreams. I’m so proud of her, and I always just want to make her proud.

What makes a leader?

First and foremost, a leader needs to be able to work well with others. This means not only being able to understand how to work as a team member, but it also means a leader has to understand how to listen to others and allow everyone an opportunity to contribute. At the same time, a leader needs to be able to keep everyone on track and focused, so the goal — whatever that might be — can be accomplished.

Favorite quote:

“Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.”

– Judy Garland

Leave a Reply

