Major: Marketing
Year: Senior
Leadership Positions & Organizations: Co-Chair of the Ralph and Luci Schey Sales Centre. The Schey is a nationally top-ranked collegiate sales program with over 300 students, 43 paying business partners (who recruit from us) and over 700 alumni.
Biggest Accomplishment: I led a team of five new Schey students last fall as sales reps. I spent time coaching and guiding them to achieve $3,000 in sponsorship sales for an on-campus event. All five came in with zero sales experience and left each having achieved multiple sales. This experience was incredibly rewarding for me to see my work positively impact others and it got me hooked on leadership.
Best Memory: The feeling of giving the final presentation and finishing up the Integrated Business Cluster. As a team, we had done extremely well and become quite close over the course of the semester, so it was great to have one last hurrah with everyone.Greg Scott Photo
Biggest Quirk: I am ridiculously ticklish – it’s probably the biggest quirk I have.
 
Role Model: It’s hard for me to define a single person because I like drawing from an eclectic array of vision/advice. I try to lead my life to be the best ‘me’ as I can. That said, two people who I really look up to and try to learn from are Elon Musk and Susan Cain.
What makes a leader: Humility & Curiosity. I think it can be easy to get caught in your own vacuum of self-importance. As a student leader, you spend day after day leading teams of students but it’s imperative not to forget to stay humble and stay curious about the expertise, the experiences, and the guidance of others. I believe very strongly in staying intellectually curious throughout the day – everyone has their own story and I can guarantee there’s something to be learned from it.  I think the best leaders are curious enough and humble enough to listen to others and grow.
Photographs of the Ohio University College of Business hosting the Microsoft Pitch Challenge at Tupper Hall on the Ohio University campus in Athens, Ohio on Friday, September I I, 2015.  [Photograph by Joel Prince]
Photographs of the Ohio University College of Business hosting the Microsoft Pitch Challenge at Tupper Hall on the Ohio University campus in Athens, Ohio on Friday, September I I, 2015.
[Photograph by Joel Prince]

Leave a Reply

