Major: Strategic Communication

 

Year: Junior

 

Leadership positions and organizations involved in: 

I am a student ambassador for McGraw-Hill Education, student director for the Centers of Excellence in the College of Business, fellow of the Consumer Research Center, member of Alpha Kappa Psi Business Fraternity, and member of ImPRessions the student-run PR group.

 

Biggest accomplishment as a student leader: IMG_3884.jpeg

My biggest accomplishment as a student leader was being selected to be a member of the Consumer Research Center. The Consumer Research Center is a fairly new organization at Ohio University that gives students a chance to research for for real clients. Last semester, my team and I did a marketing research project for a healthy fast casual restaurant called B. good that is based out of Boston. We conducted surveys and focus groups throughout
the semester to evaluate millennial preferences toward current health food trends. It was a rewarding experience that opened my mind to marketing research.

 

Best memory at OHIO:

My favorite memory at OHIO was studying abroad in Ancona, Italy last summer through the Global Consulting Program. I worked for a company that created cardboard furniture in Italy and wanted to expand to the United States market. My favorite part of studying abroad was how close the Ohio University students and the Italian students became by the end of the three incredible weeks. After going abroad, I fell in love with traveling and I can’t wait until I can go back to Europe.

 

Biggest quirk:

When I am bored, I day dream and make up things that are unrealistic in my head to pass time.

 

Your role model and why:

IMG_6259.jpeg

My biggest role model is my mother because of her unending strength to get through challenging situations. My mother has taught me to be strong and confident especially when situations are not going the way you expect. Last year, she was diagnosed with breast cancer. However, she did not let this get her down and she is now breast cancer free. She is strong enough to go through chemotherapy and radiation to make sure her chances of getting cancer again are smaller than before. This has been extremely hard on my family but she is always there to lift everyone up, even through this struggle. I love my mother and I am thankful for everything she has taught me.

 

What makes a leader?

A leader is someone who is not afraid to take charge of difficult situations to lead people in the right direction. A leader presents him or herself in a professional manner yet is approachable to everyone. A leader has to have great communicating, team building and goal setting skills.  Above all, they have to remain credible, confident and trustworthy to a group of people that can rely on them in time of struggle.

 

Favorite quote:

“The world is a book, and those who don’t travel only read one page.”

 

Leave a Reply

