Major: Journalism

 

Year: Junior

 

Leadership positions and organizations involved in:leah1

  • Copy Chief of FANGLE Magazine,
  • Honors Tutorial College Mentor,
  • CISAbroad Alumni Ambassador
  • Writing Tutor at OPIE Writing Lab
  • Student Writer and Editor at Heritage College Communications Office
  • Post Columnist

 

Biggest accomplishment as a student leader:

I think any time that I notice anyone on the FANGLE staff taking edits to heart or growing as a writer because of my influence, that is a huge accomplishment. It is awesome to see people improve based on suggestions you’ve made or really learn from something you’ve taught.

 

Best memory at OHIO:

Its pretty impossible to pick one best memory, but a lot of my greatest days while at OU have been spent with friends hiking at Stroud’s Run or Old Man’s Cave or seeing the beautiful view of campus at the top of Bong Hill. I really love just being in these beautiful spots in Athens with great people and taking in the experience.

 

Biggest quirk:

Definitely my eating habits. I’m very picky and particular about what I like! I eat everything plain without sauce or cheese or anything like that and I absolutely hate when my foods touch.

 

Your role model and why:

Its difficult for me to pick one individual person, but professionally I’m really inspired by writers who go beyond traditional lengths to really bring a story to life. Being a journalist is about making people feel something or changing the way they see things, so any writer that brings these qualities to the page is someone I look up to. Most recently, I’ve been inspired by David Grann, who wrote a piece in the New Yorker in 2009 called ‘Trial by Fire.’ His storytelling and dedication to the piece is absolutely beautiful.

 

leah5

What makes a leader?

Being a leader is just about helping other people and interacting with them in a way that is mutually beneficial. Sometimes I think the term leader is associated with the idea of a boss or being in charge, but leadership is about encouraging and helping other people to learn and grow, while improving on and practicing your own skills. Leadership and teamwork are completely intertwined, and to be a good leader you have to be willing to work with others and learn new things from them as much as they are learning from you.

Leave a Reply

