Major: Bachelor of Specialized Studies in Strategic Entrepreneurship

 

Year: Senior

 

Leadership positions and organizations involved in:

  • Founder and CEO of Maximize LLC
  • Co – Founder and acting CEO of another company of which I cannot disclose
  • Until recently, the VP of Finance for Ohio University Entrepreneurs
  • Student Ambassador for the CLDC
  • Student Ambassador for the Center for Entrepreneurship

 

Biggest accomplishment as a student leader:

That’s a tough one… Well, one of the biggest accomplishments that comes with being a student leader is simply learning about leadership. I know that answer seems like a cop-out, but being able to go anywhere, work with anyone, and do so successfully while having fun, seems like a pretty big win to me.

 

Peter_Shoup_print_001

Best memory at OHIO:

The best memory I have at Ohio University? Oh, I’m not sure if I even have an answer for this! I’ve been around the University (as a student or otherwise) for the past decade or so, so picking out a single memory is difficult. Three that stick out to me are: My first night out on Court Street, Halloween my sophomore year, and my whole first summer spent here in Athens.

I have a myriad of important memories and experiences that I wouldn’t have if I didn’t go to Ohio University.

 

Biggest quirk:

I actually enjoy working, and I do so A LOT, which I know sounds crazy to most people. But don’t freak out, I wasn’t always like that. You’ll never really enjoy anything unless you have a reason to. Work isn’t any different. I created something that I love doing, so why would I want to stop?

 

Your role model and why:

I have several role models.  I don’t think that I can narrow it down to just one.

They include, in no particular order….

  • Tai Lopez – The first person to teach me how much I could really do and how it’s possible to live an amazing life. Changed me forever.
  • Arnold Schwarzenegger – He has an unstoppable work ethic.
  • Helen Keller – She never saw how beautiful the world was until she explained it. I have no excuse for not being happy every day.
  • Will Durant – No one understood history or people better than him, nor looked at things with more perspective. I’ve read an entire encyclopedia he wrote.
  • Aristotle & Eric Greitens – They both teach me about happiness, where it comes from, the different kinds, and how to be more happy in general.
  • Warren Buffett & Charlie Munger – They’re both learning & money making machines. I’d trade my entire degree for an hour of their time. (The funny part about that, is Warren Buffett makes around 7.6 MILLION dollars per hour. My degree wouldn’t even buy ONE MINUTE of their time. Crazy isn’t it?)

 

peter shoup

What makes a leader?

Peter Drucker describes leadership as “…not about making speeches or being liked, leadership is defined by results, not attributes.” The flashiest person in the room isn’t the leader, nor is the loudest, the best dressed, the strongest, prettiest, etc. The person who is the leader, is the one that gets work done and keeps it going. This is the same reason that people on the opposite side of the ethical spectrum – such as Martin Luther King Jr. and Adolf Hitler – can both be considered excellent leaders. Now, is leadership larger than that? Of course. There are tons of other attributes that make people stand out. However, at their core, they must be hard working in at least some aspect. The leader doesn’t have to be the hardest worker on the team, but the work they do must be valuable and it must do more than its face value so-to-say.

 

Favorite Quote:

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.” – Aristotle

Leave a Reply

