Major: Political Science with a certificate in Law, Justice, and Culture

 

Year: Senior

 

Leadership positions, jobs held, and organizations involved in:

  • Student Senate, Senate Appropriations Commission Campus Organization Committee Chairman, Athens, Ohio: May 2014 –Fall 2014
  • Student Senate, Senate Appropriations Commission Senator at Large, Athens, Ohio: April 2013 – April 2014
  • Phi Delta Theta Fraternity, Philanthropy Committee Board Member, Athens, Ohio: Fall 2013 – Fall 2016
  • Southeastern Ohio Legal Services, Intern, Athens, Ohio:  June 2015 – August 2015
  • Italian Village Pizza, Delivery Driver, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania: March 2012 – August 2013

 

phillip

Biggest accomplishment as a student leader:

My biggest accomplishment as a student leader came when I was working with Southeastern Ohio Legal Services last summer. I was charged with tracking food stamp disbursements across 33 counties over a five year period. What I noticed was that some counties had reduced the budget of their programs without due cause and so some people weren’t getting their benefits. I brought this up to my boss and she got in contact with a network of lawyers who began working to remedy the situation. This was a big accomplishment for me because I made real, effectual change and had the opportunity to help so many people.

 

Best OHIO memory:

My best Ohio memory is the second half of spring semester my freshman year. I lived on South Green and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere that the entire green had. My roommates and I would always go down to South Beach when it was warm and play football or volleyball or just work on homework in the sun. Spring in Ohio is very pretty and those lazy afternoons are something I won’t ever forget.

 

Biggest quirk:

I really like to sing along with many of my favorite songs when I listen to music. Sometimes without realizing it I will be in the grocery store or on my way to class really jamming out to my Ipod or whatever music is playing and realize I’ve been singing the entire time.

 

Your role model and why:

Mark Cuban is my role model because he is a self-made businessman who worked hard to climb to the top. He is a shining example of how hard work and commitment can take you from where you are to where you want to be and that the opportunities out there are limitless.

 

What makes a leader:

A leader is someone who can bring out the best in everyone they work with and utilize everyone’s strengths to cover other’s weaknesses. The most important thing for a leader to do is promote ingenuity. It is better to tell someone what it is that needs to be done then it is to tell them how to do it. I have found that if you give people some room to complete a task in their own way, they can really impress you with their results and will find ways of solving problems you may never have thought of.

 

Favorite quote:

“Some lose all mind and become soul,insane.
some lose all soul and become mind, intellectual.
some lose both and become accepted”

-Charles Bukowski

Leave a Reply

