Major: Communication Studies Major, Social Media Certificate, Marketing Minor

 

Year: Junior

 

Leadership position, jobs and organizations involved in:

  • Vice President of Internal Affairs – BobcaThon
  • Social Media Intern – Ohio University Career and Leadership Development Center
  • Project Manager – Student Alumni Board
  • Sales Certificate Candidate – Schey Sales Centre

 

Biggest accomplishment as a student leader:

I would say that my greatest accomplishment has been raising $40, 473.01 for the Ronald McDonald House this past year at the second annual BobcaThon.  BobcaThon,Ohio University’s dance marathon, was started in 2014.  I have been lucky enough to be involved with this organization since the beginning and have been able to watch it grow and flourish.  As a member of the leadership team, being able to contribute to raising this
much money just in our second year has been truly incredible.  Not only because it was rewarding to see all of our hard work pay off, but because it is really amazing to see fellow students on campus caring so much for a cause that is so close to my heart. In addition, throughout the process I have fallen in love with the organization and the people in it.  I can’t wait to see what our BobcaThon family can do at the third annual dance marathon!

12745996_10208818900133940_8754353548648185074_n.jpg

 

Best OHIO Memory:

It is incredibly hard to come up with just one, since I’ve made amazing memories almost every week at Ohio University, so I am going to use two of my favorites.

First would be homecoming weekend this past year. Waking up on the Saturday of homecoming is like Christmas morning to me. The energy level that my friends and I had at 6am was just infectious and we were all so excited because homecoming is our favorite weekend of the whole year.  The weather was beautiful and the day was so full of OU spirit.  It was just perfect.

Second would be when my study abroad friends came to visit me here at school.  I spent last summer in Barcelona, Spain.  It was an incredible experience and I ended up making some of my best friends along the way.  We had a reunion this fall in Athens, OH and it was just surreal to have all my Spain friends come in from different states to hang out in my favorite place.

spain

 

Biggest quirk:

Probably that I think I am really funny.  I will always be the first person to laugh at my own jokes or give myself a pat on the back for saying something clever.

(I swear, I’m not narcissistic, I just get my sense of humor more than anyone else does)

 

Role model:

I can’t pin point this to one specific individual.  However, I would say that the Bobcat family as a whole is my role model.  Before coming to this school, I had no intention of getting this involved on campus and being so proactive about my future.  Once I got here, though, I noticed the infectious drive and excitement in my fellow bobcats, and was impacted heavily by the example of my peers.  I owe the fact that I have become a motivated student leader to the Bobcats.

12032100_10207949331555269_7000980898892748283_n.jpg

 

What makes a leader:

Someone who comes up with big ideas and is not afraid to share them with others.  In addition, a leader is somebody who has passion for what they are doing and portrays that passion to others.  I believe that by setting this example, others want to match that passion by working harder and caring more about what they’re engaged in.

 

Favorite quote:

“So scared of getting older, I’m only good at being young.  So I play the numbers game to find a way to say that life has just begun.” -John Mayer

Leave a Reply

