Graduation date: 2012

britt

Areas of study while enrolled at OU: Sociology/ Criminology / Master in Public Administration

 

Current professional role: Anti- Human Trafficking Program Coordinator at The Salvation Army in Central Ohio

 

How has your academic or extracurricular experience impacted your career path?

My extracurricular activities impacted my career path in such a positive way. I learned unbelievably important skills such as team building, networking, advertising and budgeting . In addition, my career path has been heavily shaped by my academic career. I took specific courses that were interesting to me but also challenged my leadership, writing, nonprofit management, budgeting and organizational management skills.

 

 

What, if anything, has surprised you about the direction your career path has taken?

I have been fortunate to work in the social work field without a degree in social work due to my professional experience which has been a blessing.

 

What was the biggest challenge you faced during the job-search process and how did you overcome that?

Fortunately (and rarely) I have been blessed not to have many challenges with job searching. Before graduating from undergrad I attended the NASW conference where I applied for a job, interviewed the next week and was offered the position. I was also very proactive in graduate school in applying for jobs during the first semester of my last year in grad school. I also scheduled a heavy load of 5 courses during that semester so I only had one class to take the last semester. Therefore, if I was offered a job I could take the job and complete my last class with the MPA executive program.britt2.jpg

 

What is your favorite thing about post-grad life?

Having more time for self care and chasing hobbies and genuinely enjoying life.

 

If you could go back and tell your college-self one thing, what would it be?

Apply for scholarships!

 

Leave a Reply

