Graduation date: 2011

 

Areas of study while enrolled at OU: Marketing and M.I.S.

 

david pando.jpg

Current professional role: Digital Marketing Manager at Dye Precision Inc. paintball

 

How has your academic or extracurricular experience impacted your career path?

I learned a lot at OU, both in and outside of the classroom. Inside the classroom I learned the basics of all the tools I’d need to excel in my career, such as Photoshop, basic coding, Microsoft Office etc. I knew at an early age I would be an entrepreneur in one way or another, so the COB business curriculum did it’s job preparing me to be a well-rounded businessman for when the time came.

Outside of the classroom, as President of the Ohio University Paintball Club, I was able to develop the leadership and organizational skills that I absolutely needed once I entered the corporate world. Using the marketing techniques learned in class, I was able to practice them right away on campus, promoting our local paintball field in Athens and our club’s success as a whole.

 

What, if anything, has surprised you about the direction your career path has taken?

The most surprising thing about my career path has been the specific skills I picked up unknowingly that became invaluable down the road. I graduated thinking I would be moving forward with a career in promotions, so my first few jobs were chosen accordingly. Along the way I had to pick up web design skills just to make my life easier (writing blogs was easier when I could upload and edit them myself). 5 years later, I’m getting paid as a full time web developer and digital marketing manager. Point is, if I thought I was going to be a web developer, I would have been a computer science major at OU. Instead I picked up the skills I needed along the way at various marketing jobs and indirectly qualified myself to earn a web development career.

 

david 2.jpg

What was the biggest challenge you faced during the job-search process and how did you overcome that?

The biggest challenge I faced was establishing confidence in my abilities. I found it very difficult grasping what specific skills gave me leverage in a job interview, so I always felt tempted to settle or take less than what I may or may not have deserved. It wasn’t until my third job that I realized how much value I had as an employee and was able to articulate it in interviews.

 

What is your favorite thing about post-grad life?

My favorite thing has been the incredible opportunities I’ve had traveling the world doing marketing for the industry I love.

 

If you could go back and tell your college-self one thing, what would it be?

I would tell myself to meet more people, join more clubs, and cherish every single day of paradise.

Leave a Reply

