Graduation date: 

2014 Undergrad & 2016 Graduate School

 

Areas of study while enrolled at OU:

Bachelors of Specialized Studies-Psychology, gracieSociology, Communication & Masters in Higher Education-College Student Personnel

 

Current professional role: 

Assistant Director of Career Management at OU’s College of Business

 

How has your academic or extracurricular experience impacted your career path?

My academic experience, particularly my experiences as a Graduate Assistant for Marketing and Employer Relations at the Career and Leadership Development Center (CLDC) and the Graduate Career Coaching position at College of Business, Office of Career Management (OCM) 100% percent have influenced my career path. If not for the time spent in both of these roles, my passion for career development would have never been sparked! I am so thrilled to be able to carry on in this field and continue developing as a career management young professional.

 

What, if anything, has surprised you about the direction your career path has taken?

Before graduate school, I wanted to become an academic advisor. My interests changed to career advising and coaching and I’m so glad. This is a field where I interact with various group of students and meet people with diverse interests, from all different career paths. I never thought I’d be in a College of Business as an employee but I’m thrilled to be able to bring my background in student affairs and career development into OCM and support College of Business students.

 

What was the biggest challenge you faced during the job-search process and how did you overcome that?

The unknown. I hate it! It scares me and stresses me out. One thing that I did throughout my entire job search was connecting with everyone who has supported me during the graduate school process. These people became my main form of support, guidance, and just being there for me when I needed to vent. I’m so grateful to have found a home in Athens where I was supported and mentored by so many fabulous individuals-you all know who you are, THANK YOU INFINITELY!

 

stagg

What is your favorite thing about post-grad life?

No homework, not worrying about what I didn’t do yet, having a real paycheck, and not having lingering assignments sneaking up on me.

 

 

If you could go back and tell your college-self one thing, what would it be?

Go to every class, befriend every professor, and write thank you notes to everyone who helps you in any way. Another thing I wish I could tell myself make time for yourself-self care is a concept I really didn’t grasp until my second year of graduate school. I wish I could have advocated for myself and said “no” from time to time. One amazing quote that I heard recently regarding self care is, “if it isn’t a HELL YES, it’s a no.” I love this quote and wish my freshman year self could have had this insight.

Leave a Reply

