What is your major at OHIO? Interactive Multimedia Design

maines1
Learn more about Marquis’s work

What is the title of your internship and which organization are you working for? User Experience Design Intern at Discover Financial Services

How did you go about getting this internship? I was informed about the job posting through LinkedIn. After finding the job posting, I contacted Discover’s regional representative to obtain more information about the objectives and goals of the program. 

I prepared for the interview using various resources including the mock interviews and coaching sessions at the CLDC. Both resources allowed me to get feedback from experienced professionals about articulating my skills on paper and in person.

What was the greatest challenge you overcame in the internship search process? The greatest challenge I overcame during my internship search process was finding a internship that would allow me to gain applicable experience related to my major. Some internships accept all majors but I wanted to find something tailored to make me a more prepared professional.

What do you think you will learn or gain from your internship experience at Discover? Because Discover is a large company, gaining the corporate experience is going to be the most valuable of the experiences. Also, working with other interns with different majors will allow me to gain various perspectives on approaches and solutions.

What do you hope to be doing professionally after graduation? I hope to either be a corporate identity branding designer or in graduate school perfecting my craft.

Without worrying about how realistic it may be, what is your dream job and why? My dream job is to own an international marketing firm tailored to marketing high-quality products including fashion, hotels and nightclubs.

What advice would you give fellow Bobcats seeking internships? Persistence prevails. 

Follow Marquis on Instagram @marquismaines

Leave a Reply

