What is your major at OHIO?

Journalism- Strategic Communication

What was the title and location of your summer internship?

Social Media & Live Stream Manager Intern at Electronic Arts (EA) in Redwood City, California

How did you go about getting this internship?

I was actually recruited by EA via LinkedIn.

What was your greatest challenge in finding an internship?

Choosing the right internship is always difficult. With being recruited so early in the year, I was nervous to close doors to potential opportunities.

What did you learn/gain from your summer internship experience?

img_5019I learned a lot, particularly about the tech industry and Silicon Valley as a whole. I had completed internships in Ohio and Texas prior to moving to California, so it was a bit of a culture shock at first. On the job, I got to learn about all of the games that EA produces and how each team operates within the larger EA ecosystem. The organizational structure there was hard to grasp at first, but eventually I got a handle on it. I was also exposed to the difficulties and rewards in planning a live streamed event, which is very important in the gaming industry. I also gained a lot of connections at EA and other Silicon Valley companies through my manager and his connections.

What do you hope to be doing professionally after graduation?

Working for a brand I believe in crafting cutting edge digital communication.

Without worrying about how realistic it may be, what is your dream job and why?

I would love to be paid to travel and go on hikes through national parks while getting paid to grow brands via digital content. This would combine my love of the outdoors and travelling with my skills in digital content and social media.

What advice would you give fellow Bobcats seeking internships?

Apply, apply, apply. Even if it seems out of reach, you are showing interest in the company by applying. I was scared to apply to my previous internship at Southwest Airlines but I did… and I got it! I would also say to always update your LinkedIn (or create one if you don’t already have one) because you could get recruited like I did.

Connect with Gentry on LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

