Via FANLGE Magazine:

Ohio University requires an internship credit to graduate. Some students may find this a burden but others take full advantage of the opportunities that the university provides for them. Check out these internships from students who had them to improve your resumé and possibly even get you a job after graduation.

Ellie Halter

ellie

Ellie Halter, a senior majoring in strategic communication and publication design, spent the summer at the Fahglren Mortine branch in Dayton.

What’s your year: Senior

What’s your major: Strategic Communication and Publication Design

Where did you intern & your position name: Fahlgren Mortine, Marketing and Communications Intern

How did you get this position: I found this internship through Linkedin’s job and internship listings.

What did you get to do there: I had the opportunity to be involved in many different projects this summer for clients in a variety of industries including consumer, business-to-business, education, healthcare and technology. I gained experience creating content calendars for social media, writing news releases, conducting competitor research, using various research tools and corresponding with local and trade media and influencers. The internship was an incredible way to learn more about my desired career and gave me hands-on experience every day.

What’s the biggest thing you learned from it: Along with the many hands-on opportunities and assignments, I loved getting to sit in on presentations, attend meetings and experience the culture at Dayton’s brand of Fahlgren Mortine.

Macy Gilbert

macy
Macy Gilbert, a junior studying integrated media, spent the summer at Trailer Park, a movie production set in L.A.

What’s your year: Junior

What’s your major: Integrated Media

How did you get this position: Searching online & applying to large production companies in Los Angeles

Where’d you intern & your position name: Trailer Park – Content Production Intern

What did you get to do there: I worked on sets of new movies that are currently in production to be shown in theaters, and also worked to create the trailers for those movies.

What’s the biggest thing you learned from it: I learned that if you don’t worry about money and just follow what you’re passionate about, it help will lead to your success. Big changes can be scary, but it will help you find your true happiness.

Kayla Blanton

kayla
Kayla Blanton, a senior studying Journalism, stands outside Cincinnati Magazine after starting her internship this summer.

What’s your year: Senior

What’s your major: Journalism (Magazine News & Info)

Where’d you intern & your position name: Editorial Intern at Cincinnati Magazine

How did you get this position: A friend of mine interned there the summer before and gave me the editor’s name. He was also a bobcat!

Fun Fact: I am a FANGLE Magazine Writer and the Features Editor for Thread Magazine.

What did you get to do there: A lot of fact checking, which required me to be really comfortable with talking on the phone. However, I did get to go out on a few scouting trips for the website (mostly shops and boutiques) which gave me some pretty cool clips. I also got assigned to write for a web series that featured 10 Olympians from Cincinnati, which gave me the opportunity to interview and write about 2008 Silver Medalist David Payne. I definitely didn’t go into the summer thinking I was going to interview an Olympian!

What’s the biggest thing you learned from it: I learned that I shouldn’t hesitate to stretch my writing beyond my comfort zone. Sports aren’t my forté so I was nervous about taking on the task, but I pleasantly surprised myself and learned a lot along the way!

Molly Finkenthal

molly-120x300
Molly Finkenthal, a junior studying integrated media, spent this summer at FOX Broadcasting Company.

What’s your year: Junior

What’s your major: Integrated Media

Where’d you intern & your position name: Fox Broadcasting Company/20th Century Fox

How did you get this position: I last minute planned a trip to Los Angeles and the day I got there, Fox contacted me asking to do a phone call interview thinking I was still in Cleveland. I applied back in the winter so it was super coincidental that they contacted me the day I got to L.A. The day before my flight home, they called me letting me know I got it so I ended up staying and my parents sent me my bags. It seemed like it was meant to be.

What did you get to do there: I helped run the Fox TV shows social medias and YouTube accounts and participated in the process of coming up with ideas for social media and digital content for each Fox TV show’s social medias. I edited a few advertisements for the Teen Choice Awards that went national on Snapchat and Musical.ly. Some of the bigger projects that I did included making the run of show for the live show for the Teen Choice Awards on the red carpet and the live show for Comic Con. I attended the Teen Choice Awards to help with the live show for that which was super fun.

What’s the biggest thing you learned from it: I learned so much from my experience at Fox from how to work in that kind of setting with strict deadlines to working on the creative process when coming up with ideas but the biggest thing I learned would be just confirming that this is the industry I want to end up in and where I can see myself in as a career.

Raichel Jenkins

raichel
Raichel Jenkins, a junior studying public relations, spent the summer as a copywriter at LPK Branding Agency.

What’s your year: Junior

What’s your major: Public Relations

Where’d you intern & your position name: LPK Branding Agency, Verbal Intern (Copywriting)

How did you get this position:I got lunch with a few members of the agency to discuss agency life and get advice on the field. Then I asked for a tour of the agency, which was given by their HR representative. When I applied for the position, they’d already met me.

Fun Fact: I am the Editor-in-Chief of FANGLE Magazine.

What did you get to do there: I wrote ad copy, created brand audits, named new products and helped with presentation copy. I got to work on projects for brands like Pringles, Kraft Foods, Smuckers, Beautyrest Mattresses and Dirt Devil Vacuums.

What’s the biggest thing you learned from it: Every intern there is going to feel overwhelmed, awkward to be thrown into uncomfortable situations and under-qualified. Volunteer for as much as you can, don’t lie and say you know exactly what you’re doing but be overly eager to help everyone with anything. You’ll be amazed what sort of projects you’ll wind up on that way.

All photos courtesy of FANGLE Magazine.

Originally posted on the FANGLE Magazine website.

Leave a Reply

