Graduation date: 2012

Areas of study while enrolled at OU: Communication Studies

12509538_1422900347731_3703591197101626938_n

Current professional role: Digital Producer at Bank of America Merrill Lynch

img_2282-1

What campus resources, learned skills, or advice received during college prepared you most professionally?

Making and keeping connections with your classmates, professors, advisors! Ohio University has an extremely proud and close-knit base of peers and alumni. They are great people to keep close professionally and personally.

How has your extracurricular or leadership experience impacted your career path?

It was incredibly helpful to gain experience working with different people through my extracurricular experience. I’ve found so many of the skills I developed in those leadership roles to directly apply to my work environment. You’re always going to need to adapt and work with new people on a variety of problem solving and decision making scenarios and what I learned in my time at OU was invaluable in preparing me for the work force.

What, if anything, has surprised you about the direction your career path has taken?

Everything! I had no idea what I was going to do after college but I ended up working for in theatrical marketing and now I work at a financial institution. I guess I still don’t know exactly where I want to land, but that’s okay because it’s a great ride exploring all that’s out there.

What was the biggest challenge you faced during the job search process and how did you overcome that?

Trying to narrow down and pinpoint exactly what I was looking for – its something I still struggle with. I didn’t have a clear cut idea of the type of job I was looking for so I was essentially looking at everything. It became overwhelming very quickly. It’s actually taken me a few years in the work force to realize the specifics of a job that I do and don’t enjoy. With that in mind now, I can really target the type of jobs I want to venture into next and even educate myself more about the industry or job type.

What is your favorite thing about post-grad life?

No tests or homework! I still have nightmares about going to class and having a test I have forgotten about.

If you could go back and tell your college-self one thing, what would it be?

Everything will work itself out. Nothing is the end of the world and there is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

