Lauren Smith is the Graphic Design Intern for the CLDC. She is the face behind the graphics, but she has a lot more to brag about. Smith has held multiple internships and leadership roles during her four years at OHIO. Creativity is in her blood – and it’s part of her every day. With her graphic design major, Smith gets to use her creative nature on a day-to-day basis.
Year in school: Senior
Area of study at OHIO: Graphic Design
Leadership role(s): Past: Graphic Design Executive for UPC, Graphic Design Intern for Student Senate, and Design chair for Sigma Kappa. Currently: Graphic Design Intern for the CLDC.
From: Cleveland, Ohio
Favorite thing about being a Bobcat: Being constantly surrounded by my best friends.
Plans after graduation: I plan to move to Phoenix, Arizona to work as a motion designer.
Hobbies: I love to travel, paint and cook.

What drew you towards a graphic design degree?
I have always been interested in the creative field. When I came to school, I started out as a Fine Arts major leaning towards painting & drawing. The way the program is setup, is that you take multiple courses outside of your intended field. The beginning of my sophomore year, I took a typography class and instantly fell in love with the idea of being a graphic designer and applied later that year.

Tell me about your past graphic design experience.
Last summer I was an Interactive Design Intern for Cinecraft Productions, a Video Production company based in Downtown Cleveland.

What experience have you found to be most valuable?
I would say the experience I found to be the most valuable was working with Cinecraft. When I arrived, they were in high season. This meant that they had multiple projects with multiple companies going at once. On my first day they assigned me an E-Learning project with Hyatt Hotels. It was my first time working on such a big project with a major corporation. Safe to say I was nervous, but the fact that my boss trusted me to handle this on my own encouraged me to give it my all. I learned a lot about myself as a designer in this role.

img_0170
Smith works with Cinecraft to shoot a commercial for pet products.

What do you see yourself doing 5-10 years down the road?
I would love to work in the field for a couple years then go back to school and get my MBA. After I get my MBA, I would love to work as a creative director and then eventually own my own design firm.

What interests you about motion design?
What interests me about motion design is how versatile it is. When you are working for print its always going to be flat, but with video there are so many other levels to it. I find it fascinating.

What advice could you give to underclassmen who are working towards a career in graphic design?
The advice I would give to underclassmen who are working towards a career in graphic design would to take on a multitude of different internships. You learn a lot in class, but you definitely learn a lot more through internships and it helps you stand out in a pool of applicants.

How has working at the CLDC shaped you as a professional?
There are so many great resources here and people to talk to. It’s easy to seek advice from my co-workers. Whenever I have a question about a job application, there is always someone there to help me. Schedule a career coaching appointment now.

Some of Laurens Projects:

 

Leave a Reply

