By Delaney Swift, CLDC Social Media Intern

Kiera Fletcher, senior at Ohio University (OHIO), has exemplified excellent leadership skills throughout her college career. It has been shown through her involvement in multiple student organizations and work experience. As a former intern for the Career and Leadership Development Center (CLDC), her talents have been specifically recognized by employees from the CLDC’s office. Fletcher’s role as a leader is a great example for all OHIO students.

Year in school: Senior
Area of study at OHIO: Health Services Administration
Leadership role(s):
Past:
Black Student Union: Freshman Representative,  VP of Fundraising, and Historian, Unified Sisters: Community Service and Fundraising Chair, Senate Appropriations Commission: Campus Organizations Committee Commissioner
Current:
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated Delta Phi Chapter: Vice President and Treasurer, National Pan-Hellenic Council: External Affairs
From: Dayton, Ohio
Favorite thing about being a Bobcat: Meeting other bobcats from diverse backgrounds and flourishing together as a community.
Hobbies: Student organizations and jogging
Plans after graduation: To pursue a Master’s in Public degree

“Go for it full throttle, and do not hold back! You are the only person who holds the power to prevent your success.”

What made you want to go to Ohio University?
I attended the Multicultural Visitation Program my senior year in high school and fell in love with the university.

How have your leadership roles throughout your college career shaped you as a person?
I have been afforded the opportunity to work with a multitude of people in various capacities which has challenged and strengthened my abilities to work as a team and modify my delivery based on the target audience.

kiera3

What has your involvement with the CLDC entailed?
I have previously worked as a PACE intern for the CLDC! Additionally, I have utilized many of the wonderful resources that the center has to offer, including walk-ins, online resources, and a few leadership workshops.

How has that involvement influenced you as a leader?
My resume skills have improved DRAMATICALLY since my internship, and I am now able to assist my friends and family members with their resumes.

Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
I see myself starting up my own healthcare network and traveling the world to obtain and share knowledge about health.

What pushed you towards a career in healthcare management?
I have always wanted to be apart of the healthcare field, because I love to serve my community. However, the clinical side of healthcare was not a great fit for me. I believe that healthcare management is the perfect field for me.

What leadership advice can you give to underclassman?
Go for it full throttle, and do not hold back! You are the only person who holds the power to prevent your success.

kiera2

 

Leave a Reply

