By Delaney Swift, CLDC Social Media Intern

Alex Corsi, senior at Ohio University (OHIO), has exemplified amazing leadership skills over the course of her four years in college. From leading a classroom as a Learning Community Leader, to leading the Scripps School of Journalism’s PR Firm, ImPRessions, to leading her sorority as chapter president, Corsi has had her fair share of leadership positions. Not to mention, she was chosen to be the Scripps student to intern for National Fisheries Institute (NFI) last summer. Apart from participating in the Career and Leadership Development Center (CLDC)’s workshops, Corsi has shown off her skills in many of her experiences.

Year in school: Senior
Area of study at OHIO: Journalism: Strategic Communication major, Political Science minor and Strategic Leadership certificate
Leadership role(s): Delta Gamma sorority president; ImPRessions student PR firm Director of Internal Affairs; former learning community leader
From: Milford, CT
Favorite thing about being a Bobcat: Our school spirit! Everyone is so passionate about OU, even after they graduate.
Hobbies: Knitting. Also, watercolor painting.
Plans after graduation: (Hopefully) getting a job in D.C. or staying at OU for grad school (to be determined)

Why did you decide to come to Ohio University?
Ultimately the journalism program sold it for me. I was dead-set on going to UConn, just like everyone else from my high school, but I knew that Scripps would help me learn the skills I’d need to be successful in this field.
 
Talk briefly about your previous internship experience.
This summer I interned at National Fisheries Institute, a trade association for the seafood industry. I was a communications intern, but the company is pretty small so I got to work with the Government Affairs and Regulatory Affairs teams as well. Outside of improving my hard skills, like writing, I learned a lot about the relationships in Congress and the way our government operates internally. I also learned a lot about seafood (ask me about catfish). Overall, developing a knowledge of trade became vital to operating successfully in the role.
 
This internship was a communication position. I did a lot of blogging, media monitoring, researching members of Congress and developing social content. NFI looks specifically to Scripps to hire their communication interns, so it was an honor to be able to represent our school in that way. Scripps makes sure to help you learn the basic skills you need, like writing strategically, to be successful in internships like mine.
 
What has been the best leadership experience you have encountered in your years at OHIO?
Being the chapter president of my sorority was, hands down, the best leadership experience I’ve ever had. I grew more as a leader and a person than in any other leadership role.
 
What has been the most interesting or challenging experience you have encountered in your years at OHIO?
Living ten hours away from home challenged me in a way I never thought it would. I never would have done half the things I have if I’d not been so far away at school. I have so much more confidence in myself as a leader, a student and a functioning human (for lack of a better term) than I would if I’d gone to UConn, for example, or another school closer to home. And while part of my success with adapting to a new place was the sheer fact that I had to, most of it was dependent upon the connections I made in the environment that is OU.
 
How have your experiences shaped you as a person?
I’ve come to understand the importance of leaving your comfort zone but also drawing lines when you know something isn’t for you. We are always capable of more than we think we are. I’ve stopped doubting myself so much because I know that I’m adaptable, I’m capable and I can handle whatever life throws at me.
 
Have you used any of the CLDCs resources? If so, which?
I’ve attended some of the classes in the 21st century leadership series! I went with my learning community when I was a Learning Community Leader and attended with Greek Life as well.
 
What field do you see a career in and why?
I loved living and working in D.C. The government is fascinating to me because it has its own kind of leadership that, much like being on the executive board of a sorority, people don’t really understand unless they’re directly involved. I could see myself working maybe on the staff for a member of Congress, at a lobbying firm or going home and working for local government.
 
What advice can you give to incoming freshmen and underclassmen?
Cherish your time here. Do something that scares you. College goes by so much more quickly than you realize, so push yourself to be the best student, friend and Bobcat that you can. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

