Ever since she was a little girl, she dreamed of being a news anchor. Micaela Marshall, junior at Ohio University (OHIO) is one step closer to making that dream come true. Apart form her heavy involvement on campus and multiple past and present leadership roles, Marshall is working hard to achieve her ultimate #careergoals. This semester, she is interning in NYC at The Today Show and this summer, she will intern at CBS News. Marshall is a hard-working individual that shows all Bobcats they can achieve whatever they set their mind to!

“Embrace the spontaneity that is college while staying focused on your dreams and you will be unstoppable.”

Year in school: Junior
Area of study at OHIO: Journalism – News and Information Track, Minor/Specialization in Marketing
Leadership role(s): 
Past: Executive Vice President of Sigma Kappa Sorority Current: E.W. Scripps School of Journalism Ambassador, Senior Captain of Ohio University Dance Team, Triangle Correspondent of Sigma Kappa Sorority
Involvement on campus: WOUB Public Media, E.W. Scripps School of Journalism Ambassador, Ohio University Dance Team, Sigma Kappa Sorority, Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society, National Society of Collegiate Scholars
Current internship role (s): The TODAY Show
Favorite thing about being a Bobcat: The small-knit community in Athens and fantastic internship opportunities the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism has to offer. I decided to come to Ohio University because of the amazing J-school program, but I fell in love with the school as a whole the moment I stepped on to the beautiful campus during a tour because I felt so at ease. I love the atmosphere of the university and all of the wonderful life-long friendships I have made while earning a degree in a field I love.
Hobbies: Dance, Yoga, Exercise, spending time with friends and family

What field do you see a career in and why?
I see myself working in broadcast news. I have known ever since I was a little girl that I wanted to be a reporter/news anchor and every day I feel more sure that this is the right career for me.

Talk briefly about your leadership roles and involvement on campus.
I have always been the type of person who loves to be involved in lots of different activities. My freshman year, I joined Sigma Kappa Sorority and I was the Executive Vice President my sophomore and junior year. I currently am the Triangle Correspondent for the sorority which means I submit articles to our national magazine to highlight some of the philanthropic work our chapter is doing at OHIO. I also joined the Ohio University Dance Team my freshman year, and I was just elected to serve as the senior captain for next season. I also got heavily involved in WOUB Public Media my freshman year and started working with the OUtlet, a long-form radio program. Throughout college I also produced, anchored (sports, news, weather) and reported for Newswatch@Noon, and I currently report and anchor for Newswatch. I also serve as a Journalism School Ambassador where I meet with prospective students and give them the inside scoop on what it is like to be a journalism student here and provide them the opportunity to ask questions while I give them a tour of the studio.

What has your experience been like so far interning for The TODAY Show?
A dream come true. The variety of this internship is amazing! All of the interns are rotated through different shifts and come in at different times depending on the shift (Plaza: 6:30a.m.-3:00p.m., Green Room: 5:30a.m.-2:00p.m., Office: 8:45 a.m.-5:15p.m., Control Room 1A: 5:30 a.m.-2:00p.m., Control Room 72: 7:45 a.m.-4:15p.m., Crash: 11:45 a.m.-8:15p.m., Ambush Makeover: 6:30 a.m.-3:00p.m.). If I work the office shift ,the first tasks I complete are clerical. I deliver newspapers to the producers/TODAY Show executives and I restock the coffee in the break room. I sit at the front desk and answer all phones and log/handle all mail to make sure it is all delivered correctly. I work directly with the TODAY Show Plaza page at the front desk throughout the day. I also help producers with research, logging and I utilize NBC News technology to set up “productions” where footage is organized and stored. After I complete ample research for a producer, I am usually given the opportunity to shadow that producer on the day the segment/guest I helped research for airs. I also help to archive tapes and create DVD copies of segments for producers. If I work in either control room, my first task is to deliver coffee from Starbucks to the control room break area and the makeup/hair room for the talent. Then, during the live broadcast, I assist the Production Assistant by running scripts/updates to DPS, Audio and Graphics. I also keep track of all the music that is played throughout the show for rights/clearances purposes. In the Green Room, I work with the Green Room Page to book cars, help the studio wardrobe department and make sure guests arrive on time for their segments. During the crash shift, I work alongside the “crash” team, helping to gather elements for the next broadcast’s news of the day and breaking news segments. I also support staff during live television segments such as “Ambush Makeover,” where plaza fans are given a wardrobe makeover. And by the end of the internship, I will have the opportunity to accompany and assist producers on a local shoot around the New York City area. Overall, I have loved every minute of this experience so far. The positive energy in the newsroom and my amazing co-interns make me so excited for my future in news.

What has been the most challenging thing you’ve encountered at your internship?
The sleep schedule! One of the hardest parts of this experience so far has been juggling working full time and taking 7 credits online. It has been tough to balance, since I come home from work completely exhausted each day and my sleep schedule is not routine, so I find it difficult to ever feel rested. For example, if I work 8:45 a.m. until 5:15 p.m. I won’t get home until 6:00 p.m. Then by the time I eat dinner, shower, and get my things together for the next day at work it is already 8:00 p.m. Let’s say I have to work at 5:30 a.m. the next day, that means I will have to be up by 3:30 a.m., which makes 8:00 p.m. my bed time. That can be a tough adjustment and it makes it really difficult to find time to do homework or really anything else after work.

What do you have planned for this summer?
I will be interning with CBS News in New York City this summer. I find out my exact placement in a few weeks. I am really excited to continue to learn about network news and media as a whole while expanding upon the knowledge I have already gained from my previous internships.

How did you go about getting the internships?
I started thinking about internships very early on. Every since I was at Bobcat Student Orientation I knew I wanted to intern with The TODAY Show. I set that goal and made steps each day toward achieving that dream. I asked several fellow students about their past internship experiences for advice on how to follow in their footsteps and I worked closely with the Internship Coordinator of the Journalism school when I was applying to the OHIO exclusive internship program with The TODAY Show. For my internship at WTVG-13 ABC in Toledo, Ohio the summer after my freshman year,  I networked with a family friend who knew one of the senior reporters that also went to Ohio University that worked at the station and once I was able to connect with her, I was able to get an interview and score the internship. For my internship with CBS News that I will start this summer, it was all about being prepared by talking to fellow students who previously interned with that network and having confidence during the interview. In reality, I was able to obtain all of my internships by planning and focusing early on in my college career by networking with OHIO students, utilizing OHIO resources and having the confidence in myself to go after my dream internships.

How have your experiences throughout your years in college shaped you as a person?
I think my time in college so far has shaped me into a more independent, confident person. I feel like I have learned how to take care of myself and stay true to who I am. I have been able to set goals and achieve them, which gives me the confidence to continue to go after my dreams.

Have you used any of the CLDCs resources? If so, which?
I did attend a resume workshop session one time to prepare for an interview and have another set of eyes look over my resume. Also, for my intro journalism course my freshman year we attended a few CLDC leadership courses.

What advice can you give to incoming Bobcats past and present?
Take advantage of every moment. Make sure you get involved in activities that make you happy that are outside of your major and are just for you. You will never have the opportunity to do that again once college ends. Allow yourself to have fun and make memories with your friends – but never forget why you’re here in the first place: to learn, to graduate, and to get a job in a field you LOVE. Embrace the spontaneity that is college while staying focused on your dreams and you will be unstoppable.

Leave a Reply

