By Demari Muff, CLDC Student Ambassador

Getting a summer internship is an amazing accomplishment that provides you with the chance to learn something new.  Along with a new learning experience, you also may get the opportunity to experience something new as well like moving to a new city for a period of time.  Accepting an internship away from home can be stressful and scary, but it’s not always as bad as it may seem.  When I had my first out-of-state internship experience I felt the same way but in the end, it turned out to be a great time.  With that being said, here are some things that you should look forward to and keep in mind when you take that internship away from home.

Explore

Adventure is out there! Sounds a bit cliché but it is true.  Living in a new area for a few months gives you a chance to explore new places and new experiences.  I interned in Milwaukee, Wisconsin last summer and to be honest that is the furthest west I’ve ever been.  Milwaukee had so much to offer when it came to unique experiences and things to try.  Every week I took the time to try something new, whether it was playing volleyball on the beach, going to the art museum or even spending a relaxing evening at jazz in the park.  I figured if I am going to be here for a few months might as well make the most of it and you should do the same.

Make New Friends

Making new friends is essential to enjoying your internship.  It might be easy to move to a new location and completely close yourself off because you are unfamiliar with the area and don’t know anyone.  When you move to your new place be sure to interact with people, certainly your fellow interns.  When I got to Milwaukee I was lucky enough to have a roommate in the place I was staying but also other interns lived in my building as well.   We were quick to bond and begin to socialize, we even formed a GroupMe to stay in touch.  Making new friends with my fellow interns and interns from other companies made my experience better and made the adventures even more fun.  To this day I still am in that GroupMe with the people that I met in Milwaukee and we often joke and reminisce about our summer together.

Finally…

Be grateful.

Not everyone gets the opportunity to spend some time away from home and possibly even get paid to do so.  So it is important to be thankful for your opportunity to travel, explore and meet new people.  Interning away from home can be scary, but trust me, once the jitters and the fears go away you won’t regret your decision to spend a summer in a new place.

 

Connect with the author, Demari, on LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

