Major: Communication Studies and Integrated Media
Year: Sophomore
Expected Graduation: Spring 2020
Hometown: Fort Lorami, Ohio
Involvement on campus: Fridays Live Floor Director, Spanish Club, AVW Studios, Phi Sigma Pi National Honor Fraternity

What made you decide to come to Ohio University?IMG_3831[5]

I always knew I wanted to go to OU and when I visited during my junior year in high school I loved it even more. I started visiting some other colleges after that and narrowed it down to two colleges, but after my second visit to OU, I was positive it was the school for me. It’s the perfect fit because I wanted to get away from the small town feel–I graduated with 60 other students–and go somewhere that was a little bigger but still felt like I was close to the people around me.

Can you tell me a little bit about your upcoming internship?

I will be working in the communications department for Midmark. The company specializes in making equipment for veterinarians, dentists, and other medical equipment. The internship will allow me to use skills from both of my majors. I’ll be working on their monthly newsletter that they send out by writing the content and helping to design it. I’ll also work on another program that’s kind of like employee of the month but they only do it four times a year and I’ll interview them for that program. Lastly, I’m also helping them through their rebranding process that they’re undergoing this summer.

What resources on campus have helped you the most as a student?

My freshman year I came in undecided, so I was in Kacey Schaum’s UC 1900 class and she introduced us to the CLDC. I ended up completing the Professional Leadership and Foundations certificates my freshman year. All of those resources and connections I made were really impactful and helpful in deciding my major.

What are your career goals?

My dream job would be to work in the television industry, preferably for a late night comedy show. In my senior year, I’m hoping to do the Ohio in LA program and find out if the big city feel is something that is definitely for me. If it is, I want to move to LA or NYC and work on a television show. If I find out that’s something I don’t really want to do, I would probably head more into the communications side of my two degrees and find a job in that field somewhere closer to home.

Do you have any advice for fellow Bobcats?

My biggest piece of advice would be to put yourself out there and join some organizations. Freshman year I wasn’t involved in anything, but now that I’m more involved this year I love OU even more and have met so many new and amazing people. Get a little bit out of your comfort zone and you’ll be surprised what happens.

What is your favorite part about being a Bobcat?

The people. The people here are the most helpful, kind, inclusive, but also diverse group that I’ve ever met. Every professor, advisor, and person I’ve met here has been amazing and has opened my eyes to what I can do here.

Interview conducted by CLDC Social Media Intern Kate Ansel

Leave a comment