Major: Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling

Hometown: Dayton, OH

Involvement on Campus:

Executive Board – Alpha Phi Omega Co-Ed Service Fraternity

Guest Services Manager – Ohio University Event Services

Member – Ohio University Event Services’ Student Advisory Board

Tutor – Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences

Research Assistant – Center for Intervention Research in Schools

Member – Relay For Life Planning Committee

Member – Chi Sigma Iota, International Honors Society for Counseling Students/Counselor Educators

 

Graduation date: December 2016

Current position: Licensed Professional Counselor at Hopewell Health Centers, Inc.

 

How did you choose Ohio University?

I chose Ohio University because I loved the campus and enjoyed touring the Psychology department, and later, the Counselor Education department for Graduate School. I enjoyed how green the campus was and the bricks that made up all of the historic buildings. When I walked around campus during my first visit in my senior year of high school, I felt like I was home and never wanted to leave.

 

How did you choose your major and what excited you most about it?

During my sophomore year of high school, my English class required us to complete a research project where we closely examined five professions we were interested in and reflect on our feelings about the future. During this project, I learned more about psychology and the different helping professions associated with the field. One of my passions in life is working with and helping others. Majoring in psychology seemed like the best fit for me.

 

Have you ever used career or leadership training services on campus?

Yes! I completed the Career Leadership and Development Center’s 21st Century Leadership series. I really enjoyed the program and appreciated the skills it helped instill in me. I would highly recommend it to any current student. The skills are transferable and are appropriate for a myriad of professions.

 

Did you hold any leadership roles at OHIO?

I was elected as Relay For Life chair on Alpha Phi Omega’s executive board two years in a row to help aide the Ohio University Relay For Life Planning Committee. I also worked as a guest services manager to train all new guest services Ohio University Event Services employees.

 

Tell us about one of your most significant career development experiences at OHIO.

I have a hard time picking. I would first like to tell you about my time in Alpha Phi Omega, which helped hone my passion of working with/helping others. I was given countless valuable opportunities to work with other students and work on service projects that impacted our chapter, community and national levels. My favorite service opportunity was a trip to Give Kids the World in Kissimmee, Florida, which is a nonprofit resort for children with critical illnesses and their families. The other experience was working with Ohio University Event Services as a guest services representative and interacting with students, faculty members, families, and community members. It taught me valuable customer service skills, patience and the importance of team work. Working at Baker Center with the Event Services team became a home away from home. I miss that job quite a bit.

 

What is your favorite thing about being a Bobcat?

I absolutely love the “Bobcat Family” mentality. I am forever running into Ohio University alumni everywhere I go and am always able to talk and bond with other Bobcats about our shared experiences in Athens. It’s a beautiful link to others, regardless of the year of graduation.

 

What advice would you give to your fellow Bobcats?

The best advice I could possibly give would be the things I learned in graduate school from the Counseling Department: it is important to be yourself and have faith in yourself/your abilities. You have so many amazing and wonderful things to offer your respective fields, and you will always be your toughest critic. Always strive to be the best version of yourself.

 

What has your career been like since graduation?

Upon graduating with my master’s degree in December 2016, I accepted an offer at a local community clinical mental health agency (Hopewell Health Centers, Inc.) to practice as a licensed professional counselor. I work as a school-based therapist and provide clinical mental health services to students in the school setting.

Leave a comment